Coconut Oil TEST 6: Teeth Whitener

Time for another one of my coconut oil tried-and-tested-posts!
This time I tried the old art of oil pulling. Since coconut oil is anti-bacterial it is supposed to be really good for your mouth-hygiene if you swish it around in there for 15-20 minutes each day before brushing your teeth. You can do it while getting out of bed and getting dressed, while reading the news or whatever you occupy yourself with in the morning.

I have tried this for two weeks now with decent results. It took a little while to get used to the taste of the coconut oil, and it is not a taste I enjoy, but It’s okay once you get a little used to it. I’ve been told that you can do this with any other kind of oil you have in your kitchen (corn, olive etc.), but since I’m only testing thing with coconut oil this is what I chose.
I was told that this would work as a good natural teeth whitener, but I’m not sure if I can confirm this. I already have pretty white teeth – so maybe it’s just because the oil cant make my teeth any whiter – maybe it would have worked if my teeth were more yellow. Or maybe they are actually a little bit whiter? See for yourself in the photos below!
When I started doing this I had two blisters in my mouth, but since then I haven’t had any problems with my mouth or teeth. This is not a proof that it actually works since I normally shouldn’t have oral problems  every two weeks. The only thing I really noticed is that my gums are less red and my mouth feels really clean when I’m done oil pulling and brushing my teeth.

So far it seems like this method has at least some of the benefits claimed, and I think I will continue to use it and see if my dentist notices anything when it’s time for me to get a check-up.

IMG_0069 IMG_0071

About endyrved

Woman, 23, Copenhagen
This entry was posted in Beauty, Inspiration, Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coconut Oil TEST 6: Teeth Whitener

  1. theoxfordowl says:

    I have never heard of this before, but it sounds really interesting!

Leave a Reply

